News‎ > ‎


posted 17 May 2017, 04:40 by Liz Garstang


On Sunday 14th we held our second open time trial of the season. Originally planned as a 25 mile event on the A19, roadworks forced us to change this to a 10 on the Sedgefield course. Without the kind co-operation of Durham Constabulary we couldn’t have done this.

We had a large field of 73 entrants and expected a competitive race. We weren’t disappointed, with 11 riders under 22 minutes. Keith Murray and Shaun Tyson were first and second respectively in both FASTEST and VTTA STANDARD, Murray breaking 20 minutes, which is rare on the T105. 17 year old Adam Jarps of Manilla Cycling was third in 20-59.

Hartlepool CC had 16 entrants. Best-placed were Paul Thirling in 4th and Gary Hunt in 18th. Gary was also 7th on VTTA standard. Trevor Jones deserves a mention as he rode his first time trial in 15 years and posted a highly-creditable 24-35.

Thanks to everyone who helped with the organisation of the event, both beforehand and on the day. Particular thanks to our race sponsor Pentagon Freight Services plc.



On 7th May, Richard Booth rode the 3rd of the Stallard Series at Bobbington in the west midlands on a tough course with a long climb on each lap. Richard managed to win his age category again, which means he’s won all 3 so far and puts him in a strong position to take the series win!

Richard also won his age category and placed 4th overall last Saturday in the Darley Moore Criterium and on Sunday he won the TLI70 National Championships at Oulton Park.


Phil Wright, Gary Hunt, Richie Grant, Ted Scurr and Alan Lang have been flying the HCC flag around the north of England in various events over the past few weeks.


Last Thursday, 11th May, saw the first race in the Hartlepool CC T105 League for 2017. This is a league for HCC members only based on their best 8 placings within the Ferryhill Wheelers’ Thursday night Sedgefield 10s. Gary Hunt was 1st, both FASTEST and VTTA STANDARD. Full results on the website (soon).

It’s not too late to join in with this. There are 16 races and only your best 8 results will count, so you’ve lost nothing by missing the first one.